Japan logo Japan group picture nightporter logo

Live History
Carrier Bag
Facebook Group

Includes "After a Fashion" and "Textures" with Mick Karn

The DVD above includes footage of Yellow Magic Orchestra in the recording studio.

Back to Index Page

In Concert - 249 featuring Japan (7th February 1981 Hammersmith Odeon)

  1. Swing
  2. Gentlemen Take Polaroids
  3. Alien
  4. ...Rhodesia
  5. Quiet Life
  6. My New Career
  7. Taking Islands In Africa
  8. Methods Of Dance
  9. Ain't That Peculiar
  10. Halloween
  11. European Son

This disc has been bootlegged on numerous occasions, most commonly known as "Polaroid" or "Methods Of Dance". Ignore the sleeve of the latter - this show is definitely NOT from Hammersmith in 1980! The original vinyl disc pressed by BBC transcription services, catalogue number CN 3769. There are under 100 original copies in existence. Expect to pay 250 plus for an original copy. 

There is also a CD version in existence - again in very small numbers - called "In Concert 249 Japan" with the catalogue number CN 3769 (same as the LP).


A CD was also pressed by the BBC in 1992 for broadcast purposes and contains the following:

  1. Behind The Mask - YMO
  2. Rydeen - YMO
  3. Citizens Of Science - YMO
  4. Canton Boy (edited) - YMO/Akiko Yano
  5. Firecracker - YMO
  6. Cosmic Surfin' - YMO (all recorded 16/10/80 at the Hammersmith Odeon)
  7. Swing
  8. Gentlemen Take Polaroids
  9. Alien
  10. ...Rhodesia
  11. Quiet Life
  12. European Son

Only a handful of copies exist of this CD, which is in a BBC sleeve with the tracks and times typed on the front.

Cue sheet

Cue sheet for the LP and CD - note that "...Rhodesia" is called "Your Love Grows" on both, something which carried through to the Hong Kong bootleg LP.

BBC LP sleeve

LP label

biography sheet

Info sheet

back of info sheet

Don't rain on my parade: web design and content 1996 -2011  Paul Rymer unless stated otherwise. All rights reserved. This is a fan appreciation site and is not affiliated to any of the record companies who have released material by Japan. It has not always been possible to establish who the copyright owner is for all of the material on this website. Please feel free to contact the webmaster with any questions.