Japan logo Japan group picture nightporter logo

Live History
Carrier Bag
Facebook Group

The Collection (2009)

Japan The Collection

Completists might be interested in this collection which features "Ghosts", "Visions Of China", "Quiet Life" (1981 single version) and "Life In Tokyo" (two versions including the one from the cassette of "Assemblage").  Nothing previously unreleased is included, but a couple of tracks are not available on the album CDs or Virgin's "The Very Best of Japan". This CD retails at between 3.99 and 5.99.

Curiously, a mastering error has been made with "Halloween" which is obvious during the opening drums - this seems to be the compilers have used the "In Vogue" (1996) compilation master which only uses one side of the stereo field. It sounds shit, basically. Must try harder BMG!

Sony BMG/Camden 88697556792

1. Quiet Life (1981 7" Single Version) 3:36
2. Visions Of China 3:41
3. Ghosts (Album Version) 4:34
4. I Second That Emotion 3:46
5. Life In Tokyo 3:32
6. European Son 3:39
7. All Tomorrow's Parties  4:15
8. Adolescent Sex  3:45
9. Don't Rain On My Parade  2:54
10. In Vogue 6:30
11. The Unconventional 3:01
12. Communist China 2:46
13. Suburban Berlin 5:01
14. Halloween 4:24
15. Life In Tokyo (Remix)    6:15
16. All Tomorrow's Parties (Steve Nye 1983 remix)    5:17

Don't rain on my parade: web design and content 1996 -2011  Paul Rymer unless stated otherwise. All rights reserved. This is a fan appreciation site and is not affiliated to any of the record companies who have released material by Japan. It has not always been possible to establish who the copyright owner is for all of the material on this website. Please feel free to contact the webmaster with any questions.